2021 awards thread

Message Bookmarked
Bookmark Removed
Not all messages are displayed: show all messages (63 of them)

No question, but I bet if you studied catchers having comparable seasons on comparable teams, you'd be looking at lots of MVP support--more than one 10th-place vote, for sure.

clemenza, Friday, 19 November 2021 00:44 (seven months ago) link

Well, maybe not. Zunino for the Rays and Will Smith for the Dodgers had comparable seasons in terms of bWAR, and their teams also won 100 games. Zunino got the same 1 point, Smith was shut out. (I suppose I'd expect more because of Posey's name recognition and stature.)

clemenza, Friday, 19 November 2021 00:52 (seven months ago) link

two weeks pass...

Tip O’Neill Award to Vlad--eight more and he'll tie Larry Walker (Votto has seven).


clemenza, Wednesday, 8 December 2021 16:32 (six months ago) link

damn, tyler o'neill picked the wrong time to become a good canadian baseball player! you'd think he would have been a shoe-in for the T O'Neill award

my hands are always in my pockets or gesturing. (Karl Malone), Wednesday, 8 December 2021 17:09 (six months ago) link

The Paul O'Neill Award, of course, was given annually to the player or manager who gave the best performance in a Seinfeld episode. Beside O'Neill himself, previous winners included Keith Hernandez, Danny Tartabull, and Buck Showalter.

clemenza, Wednesday, 8 December 2021 17:23 (six months ago) link

i never saw the buck showalter episode! i think i saw the rest, somehow, in real time on thursday night on NBC when they aired.

god, 25 years ago was very different

my hands are always in my pockets or gesturing. (Karl Malone), Wednesday, 8 December 2021 17:30 (six months ago) link

He's good! "All of a sudden there's a problem with Tartabull's swing..."


clemenza, Wednesday, 8 December 2021 19:59 (six months ago) link

(Showalter's line needs context from earlier in the episode.)

clemenza, Wednesday, 8 December 2021 20:03 (six months ago) link

I was wondering if Fergie Jenkins would have won 11 or 12 of those Tip O'Neills in a row--from '67 to '79, possibly--but he definitely would have lost to John Hiller in '73; Fergie was atypically mediocre, and Hiller had one of the greatest relief seasons ever (7.9 bWAR). Jenkins had other so-so years near the end of that run, but I don't know if there was anyone else around to beat him. Terry Puhl might have won in '79.

clemenza, Thursday, 9 December 2021 03:55 (six months ago) link

Rob Butler won in 1993 -- with a 97 OPS+ in 56 PA with the Blue Jays? Slow year.

NoTimeBeforeTime, Thursday, 9 December 2021 11:34 (six months ago) link

You must be logged in to post. Please either login here, or if you are not registered, you may register here.